ON THE VERGE: Rachel Johnson, New York (and a Rebeca Rubi Update)


During the short history of this blog, we’ve featured Allies, Staff and Alumni.  However, this Friday, we’ve got another installment of On The Verge, featuring applicants who are on the verge of becoming Allies for 2010.  Our next profile is Rachel Johnson, who we met through a comment that she posted on the debut segment of OTV. We interviewed Rachel via e-mail to learn about where she’s at with the process in applying to Public Allies New York.  Rachel’s responses are in BOLD.

How did you first hear about Public Allies?

I first heard about Public Allies while doing a random search on a website called Idealist.org, which has a host of information on nonprofit organizations as well as internships and jobs.

What convinced you to apply for Public Allies?

I saw a great opportunity to get involved with an organization that is training diverse young leaders for the future of the nonprofit sector and I believe I will meet some unique individuals that will help me become a better leader. The entire program really lines up with what I would look for in an apprenticeship (teamwork) and overall the program genuinely excites me to want to become a Public Ally.

What surprised you about the Public Allies Application Process, compared to other jobs/experiences you have applied for?

I was most surprised by the group interview as I had never participated in one before. Sitting in on the interview with 7 other applicants really turned the heat up making me want to put my best foot forward.

How would you describe working with the staff?

The NY staff has been very helpful just in answering general questions to being transparent about their own experience as an Ally. Overall, it has been a really smooth process, from sending in my application materials, receiving updates via email, and even in finding the interview site. The staff is doing a great job making the application process run seamless as I was told there were 500 applicants for the New York site.

What do you know now about yourself that you didn’t know prior to applying to Public Allies?

Prior to PA, I wouldn’t have described myself as a competitive person, but in finding Public Allies, I found an opportunity that I am avidly willing to compete for and that is incredibly exciting. Today I know that I have this competitive drive within me that will only jumpstart when I find something that genuinely speaks to the passion’s of my heart; right now my passion is to serve as a Public Ally giving back to a community in need right here in NYC .

Thanks Rachel!  To keep up with her progress, be sure to visit MBA Ray Says, her tumblr blog that tracks her progress through the application process.

ON THE VERGE Update:  Rebecca Rubi

Per her Facebook Update on June 10, 2010, 5:50 pm:

I am officially a Public Ally!!!!!! Moving to NYC in a few months!!!!! 🙂

Congratulations, Rebeca!  We look forward to hearing what it’s like to work at the Urban Justice Center and being a part of the PA NY Cohort!

One Response to “ON THE VERGE: Rachel Johnson, New York (and a Rebeca Rubi Update)”

  1. Karla Radka Says:

    Way to Go Rebecca, I wish you the best!


Leave a Reply

