Staff Q&A | Meet the people who read your applications

Jennie Yeow

Who she is: Program Manager, Public Allies Delaware and a Delaware Ally in 2005 and 2006

Originally from: The Cool Spring neighborhood on the Westside of Wilmington, Del. “I am currently renting and renovating the house I grew up in.”

While an Ally: In her first year, she was an assistant teacher at a child care center. As a second-year Ally she worked in-house with Public Allies Delaware.

Before Public Allies: “I was in high school!”

Why Public Allies? “I wanted to surround myself with a group of people who were passionate about social issues with the desire to do something with that passion. I felt like I had won the lottery when I found out about Public Allies!”

What’s it like at your workplace right now? “Crazy! My goal is to balance all things end-of-the-year — 360’s, gift seat, interviews, the matching process, presentations of learning, three-way meetings, retreat, and graduation.”

Most common question you’re hearing right now? “I’m getting a lot of questions (with a nervous quality to them) about presentations of learning. It’s also that time of the year for resumes, cover letters, and recommendations.”

How have the Allies on your team made an impact in your community? “Like all Program Managers, I think my Allies are rock stars! Since mapping a couple of neighborhoods on the west side of Wilmington, my team has been working diligently to facilitate the community’s creation of a recreational baseball league for their youth, centered on an underutilized baseball field at their neighborhood park, Judy Johnson Park. Their underlying hope is that this project will serve as a common goal around which west side neighbors can work in partnership to foster a more vibrant, engaged, and united community.”

Complete the following sentence: If you become an Ally, be ready … “for anything. You will be forced to stretch and grow in ways you could never have imagined. It’s never exactly what you think it’s going to be!”

In 21 words or less: What are the three most essential ingredients for a successful Ally experience?

“1. A willingness to listen and learn from others.

“2. Trust in the process!!

“3. Passion for what you are doing. You won’t make it 10 months without it.

“(I tried to stay under seven words per ingredient, but it didn’t work out.)”

On your desk: “It was tempting to pick the kitten-a-day calendar that my partner gave me for Christmas. It definitely helps when I need a distraction! On a more serious note: On my bulletin board I keep cards, notes, e-mails, etc. that Allies have written to me. When I’m feeling discouraged, they remind me of the awesome work that we’re doing at Public Allies.”

Jennie's kitten-a-day calendar

One Response to “Staff Q&A | Meet the people who read your applications”

  1. Gerry Says:

    Thank you for this lovely Staff Q&A on Jennie Yeow! After reading this informative piece on a former Ally and Program manager, I decided to apply to the Public Allies-Delaware Program. I am a firm believer that people deserve a chance and that our humaness towards our communities is most important in an ever changing world. Thank you Jennie for your very honest answers. I definately feel the passion of service burning within me–Go Public Allies-Delaware!!!!

    -Gerry


Leave a Reply

